Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

soa 59

This is the first of a series of posts, mostly of photos, about my visit to Summer of Art 2015 on the Metropolis Metaversum grid. I happen to have a Metropolis account from when I was exploring opensim early this year. The last Summer of Arts was held in 2012; I’ve been looking forward to visiting since I first read of this event months ago.

It sounds fairly easy to hypergrid in from other opensim grids. There is an official website which I didn’t find easy to navigate. The most helpful information for me was on this blog post, which I recommend reading if you’re planning to visit.

There is a lot to see and I took quick snapshots, which of course is no substitute for actually visiting. ( I saw nothing indicating photography isn’t allowed and will delete pictures if there’s a complaint.) There are parties, live acts, machinima, readings and all sorts of activities.

I had just enough trouble that I stayed a long time in case I wouldn’t be able to get back in. I highly recommend visiting; I found it worth it.

# 18 Oopsie Joseppe

# 18 Oopsie Joseppe

In the above photo, Pearl Grey of Metropolis is dancing to an animation in the gallery of Oopsie Joseppe. I started writing down studio numbers and later learned that the same numbers are also used in the large 3D installations. There are small info kiosks in front; menus link to web pages with artist bios, current works and such.

I wandered around in a random sort of way and believe I saw almost everything although I wasn’t able to photograph everything.

# 18 Oopsie Joseppe

# 18 Oopsie Joseppe

Almost all the galleries had three or four floors of art. There were some names I’ve seen in Second Life and many artists whose work I saw for the first time.

# 16 Linda Diva

# 16 Linda Diva

I hadn’t used this account for months; when I logged in I was unable to access the Art sims because the system didn’t recognize that I existed or something to that effect. In the past I’d always ignored the bot, Bertha I think her name is, but this time I let her start up a conversation with me in the welcome area.

# 16 Linda Diva

# 16 Linda Diva

About half of our conversation was in English, which is the only language I speak. I mentioned the “don’t recognize” problem and she said she’d heard that before. Then she insisted in speaking German. When I saw the word “Fussball” I went on my way to figure it out on my own. 🙂

# 15 Art Eames

# 15 Art Eames

I got in by relogging twice more. That is the sort of thing that seems to work for me in opensim.

The art is excellent and much of it is very colorful. There are many different mediums. There is no way photos can do the pieces justice, especially the moving and interactive pieces.

# 15 Art Eames

# 15 Art Eames

# 06 Sina Souza

# 06 Sina Souza

# 06 Sina Souza

# 06 Sina Souza

There was no one else around while I was there; they must have been sleeping on the other side of the world.

# 05 Miguel Rotunno

# 05 Miguel Rotunno

These regions opened on September 25th and will remain open until November 14th.

# 05 Miguel Rotunno

# 05 Miguel Rotunno

# 04 Rig Torok

# 04 Rig Torok

# 04 Rig Torok

# 04 Rig Torok

# 03 Snowie Haiku

# 03 Snowie Haiku

# 03 Snowie Haiku

# 03 Snowie Haiku

# 02 Carda Mom

# 02 Carda Mom

# 02 Carda Mom

# 02 Carda Mom

# 01 Jorink Devin

# 01 Jorink Devin

# 01 Jorink Devin

# 01 Jorink Devin

These are only a fraction of what is there. Again, very well worth visiting and also googling these artists.

 

 

