Tags

,

taken in the Wastelands

taken in the Wastelands

These are a few photos from a long ramble around the Wastelands over a month ago. My visits to post-apocalyptic builds had a purpose; I was asked to help a friend who’s creating a sim.

I visited lots of places, took lots of photos and these are my three favorites. The Wastelands was the most enjoyable of all of them for me. I’m still taking little steps daily to de-clutter and organize and I simply can’t keep all the pictures I take. Most of them have been deleted.

Are you like me, with about twenty unwritten blog posts in your head that you simply don’t sit down, type and publish?

wasteland_06

Here’s something I’ve been wanting to write about but have been expecting too much of myself to get it more right. So I’ll just write it in my combo blurt-it-out/beat-around-the-bush way. 🙂

I believe that any skill we learn and most of our accomplishments are never wasted. They may seem to be failures and wastes but we can’t always sense how they alter us.

I can be a good listener and while it’s reasonable that I’d witness an SL friend’s challenges I tend not to want to do so with people I’ve just met. But I hear way more than I’d like to about lack of opportunities in real life. How hard it is. How there’s no place for many to fit in.

It’s been obvious for quite a while that many of us need to create our own jobs. We learn to freelance. Have gigs instead of careers. Especially for males, many of the roles that “should be” are long gone.

Did you know that last year, 2012, was the United Nations International Year of Cooperatives? That Co-ops are the fastest growing business model?

What does this have to do with Second Life? Even though much of what goes on in virtual reality is play and recreation, when we interact with others on projects and socializing we can learn to work better with diverse people. Oh, it’s easy to say that it doesn’t matter and hide behind anonymity. To act like a jackass just because life and all is so hard.

My skills and understanding have improved from “playing” in virtual reality and it’s helped me with clients and service providers in real life. I can better sense that line between when it isn’t personal and is worth the inconvenience and when it’s a swampy road I’d best not walk down.

Now I certainly don’t want to tell others how to live their own life but when I’ve listened to enough helpless whining from someone I might give them the link to this post. And ask: “What are you going to do about it?”

“What are you going to do about it?”

wastelands_02I’m not sure what the name of the place above was but it was near the area of the Wastelands; it may have recently closed.

I’ve often been attracted to helping people with projects when they have clarity of vision. I have to watch that so I won’t let it turn my own projects into shadows.

In the situation with the post-apocalyptic sim creation, almost none of my ideas were used. I would be asked for help, would do some research and my friend would go with something else. Or change her mind and vision. Several times.

In a way, my showing her something that is not her vision helps her to find what she does want. This sort of dynamic used to make me crazy. Now, I’ve learned skills in handling myself better so this is all easier.

In real life I do a lot of work on my own. But I also must work with people who are quite different from me. People who tell me, “That’s impossible; that will never work.” Sometimes it does; many times it doesn’t. But it’s getting less stressful and I’m more successful. I’m learning to navigate and negotiate better.

And in virtual reality, many of these insights slide in easily like when driving or in the shower or gardening.

We can’t do everything ourselves.

