Tags

, , , , , , ,

Grey November Gallery and Store_3 Grey November Gallery and Store_2 Grey November Gallery and Store_1These are my photos from a visit to the Grey November Gallery. It was pouring down rain there. In real life I live in the high desert and it somehow felt wonderful for my avatar to stand there in the rain in ways that I can’t explain.

The gallery is connected somehow to the Insight Forest sim, which also has photos on display.

I use the LL viewer and always do the updates and so far I’m not liking the CHUI thing. I’ve mentioned before that I have neurological and cognitive impairment and figuring out how to use this is a bigger deal for me than it would be to many. I especially wonder how it will work in roleplay sims, which is one of the reasons I stay in Second Life.

My screen time in SL will be limited the next few days because I’ll be watching the live streaming of the Merrie Monarch Hula Competition from Hilo, Hawaii. I love the Hawaiian culture and the ancient form of Hula.

I haven’t been able to make the long flight there and back for several years now and last night I wasn’t able to stay awake for all of the Miss Aloha Hula Competition. This is the 50th anniversary of the Festival. It streams from 9:00 p.m. to 3:00 a.m. in SLT time, which is 10:00 to 4:00 for me. My favorite part will be streamed during those times tonight, which will be men’s and women’s groups doing the ancient forms. Tomorrow night will be those same groups doing the more modern  forms. It’s heart-warming that this generation is carrying the culture forward; it’s a big commitment on their parts.

I logged into SL yesterday evening and quickly checked out Hawaiian stuff in SL. I looked at one shop but the culture doesn’t seem to have much of a presence inworld. I’ve not seen any hula animations and that’s OK; I was just looking from curiosity and wanted to mention the Festival in my blog.

In the mean time, there’s plenty going on in my daytime, real life at a time when I’m feeling like I need to sleep more. I expect I’ll get through the CHUI thing in my viewer, enjoy enough of the hula live stream and manage to hold enough of my first life together. I’ve had some practice at this.

