Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This year the book I’ve chosen to read for banned books week, which is September 30 through today, is Kate Chopin’s The Awakening and Selected Stories. She lived from 1850 to 1904 and some consider her to be a forerunner of 20th century feminist authors.

I’ve seen her name before since I enjoy the history of that era although I’ve not yet read anything by her. Frankly I often find writing from that period difficult to read. I’ll see how it goes and let you know.

Photo by NCPTT Media; Flickr Creative Commons

The photo shows some damaged artifacts salvaged from the fire that destroyed the Kate Chopin House and the collection of items it contained.

Have you read any of Kate Chopin’s work? What do you think of it? Did you select a book to read for Banned Books Week this year?

