Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Katowice, Silesian, PL

photo credited to Ahorcado through Flickr Creative Commons license

When I become aware of something not working, I like to skip over the blame part. I ask myself how I’d rather experience the situation. Do I simply need to change my perception? Is there an action I can take to bring about change? Do I have the resources to transform something? Is the timing right?

Change for the sake of change alone can be distracting busy work. The obsessive grasping for perfection is painful. Transformation of something to a higher level of expression is a kind of art. Sometimes it can be easy ~ just a letting go of a lower level of being or doing.

There are some things that, while not ideal or perfect, can simply be accepted and appreciated. They have not outlived their beauty or usefulness. They can still serve adequately, in a stable way, while other things are crumbling or being consciously transformed.

My physical body certainly isn’t perfect but I’m going to take care of it as best I can. No way do I want to cultivate criticizing it or do I plan on using my resources for altering it. I have no interest in suffering for a cultural ideal of beauty.

During the 1970’s, the city in which I’ve lived for the last six years went on a re-development rampage and destroyed lovely old buildings for hideous ones, many of which now stand empty. There are ways to upgrade buildings for environmental reasons. Not everything has to be trashed.

I’d rather pay attention and transform the areas where my life is whispering that I need to rather than waiting for it to all pile up until disaster happens. I also like to  be efficient and keep what is still useful, beautiful, steady and serviceable in my life.

The people I know who are addicted to self-improvement are no fun to be around; they make me uncomfortable. When it comes to transformation, right now I can  think of no better way to say it than the Serenity Prayer.

