Tags

, , , , ,

Yes, life is challenging. Sometimes looking forward to entertainment helps one get through rough or dry patches in the journey when the future looks bleak and tedious. Anticipation can be juicier and more thrilling than the anticipated event.

The way I’ve learned to play it is not have too many expectations when the event has arrived. Earlier on I’ll accept basking in the good vibes of positive interest.

Two films have come to my attention that I’m right now feeling as bright spots to look forward to.

#1 ~ The Hobbit is to be filmed as a trilogy! I’d even forgotten it was to be filmed in two parts. The final film is to be released in the summer of 2014.

I’m looking forward to seeing Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield. I enjoyed watching him as John Thornton in the TV mini series, Elizabeth Gaskell’s North & South as well as his role in The Impressionists. I’ve even watched a number of things I wouldn’t have otherwise exposed myself to simply because he was in them. That includes the season or two he was Lucas North in MI-5 and the two seasons he played Guy of Gisborne in Robin Hood.

# 2 ~ I just happened to see the trailer for Cloud Atlas and am very intrigued. It was a long one, five minutes or so on hulu, and there are some disturbing scenes. If I thought it was a crap, senseless film I would dismiss it. It opens on October 26 of this year. I feel like I’m going to love it even though I might have to close my eyes now and then.

The heat has been getting to me and my inner slacker is taking advantage of it. I plod on and lately when I think of these films I perk up a little. “Oh yeah!”

