Tags

, , , , , , ,

As I wrote about yesterday, I’m feeling the need for lots of rest and hydration. I want the mental, problem-solving wheels in my head to quit spinning in regards to real life and also all the changes in the role play sims I’m engaged with in Second Life. I wanted to step out of the fray. And I did, more so than I thought I would.

I was going to make a delicious organic chicken slow-cooker meal. I have all the ingredients but~horrors~I went out for fast food instead. I can make the meal tomorrow.

I was going to read but found I couldn’t concentrate so I went for a walk and sat by the river until it got too hot. Then I came home and napped. Yes, I got my work done and didn’t inconvenience others. I even wore eyeliner and earrings.

I spent a minimum amount of attention to the internet today, but I did see this:

“Idleness is not just a vacation, an indulgence or a vice; it is as indispensable to the brain as vitamin D is to the body, and deprived of it we suffer a mental affliction as disfiguring as rickets. The space and quiet that idleness provides is a necessary condition for standing back from life and seeing it whole, for making unexpected connections and waiting for the wild summer lightning strikes of inspiration — it is, paradoxically, necessary to getting any work done.”

I do so get it. And I still haven’t learned how to make those pretty links like other blogs have, but if you’re interested enough to search for Tim Kreider and “The Busy Trap”, I’m sure you’ll find it. It’s well worth reading.

One thing I did just discover about wordpress  is the draft function. I am writing this Thursday afternoon. Friday is indeed busy for me; well sorta, kinda. In  the morning I can press the publish button.

With people around me feeling so uncertain and pushing themselves, with all the construction, deconstruction and saying goodbyes in some of the  Second Life roleplay sims, I need to rest that part of my mind that deals with “Urgent!” Next thing! Fix this! Do it now! Go for it!

Even writing those words doesn’t feel so good right now. How does reading them make you feel? Maybe you want to go accomplish something?

Cool drink. River breeze. Relax. Birdsong. Stretch. Barefoot.

