Tags

, , ,

We live in fast-changing, interesting times and sometimes people go silent. It’s happened to me many time with my roleplaying buddies online. All of a sudden the conversation comes to a stop. I used to wonder what I’d done wrong. Later, I’d often learn there was some other reason that had nothing to do with me. Often, they’ll carry on later as though there was no mysterious break in the communication at all.

I try to give people the benefit of the doubt and hope they’ll do the same with me. But I’ve quit asking what’s wrong. If there’s something they need me to know, they can address it. In the meantime I can only hope that all is well for them.

I haven’t logged into Second Life since Sunday because I’ve been doing other things and it really hasn’t anything much to do with what anyone’s said or done. Or even their breath. I’ve been using my time doing more hiking early in the mornings and then playing catch-up the rest of the day. Resting when I came back around noon today, I read more in the book, Game of Thrones. It’s a great story but I wish the characters weren’t so…..mean and harsh.

Many of us are under a lot of stress and when people act kind of weird I now tend to think it’s something else going on with them. Maybe something they can’t easily talk about. Patience helps, as well as giving people some space and not making whatever it is about me.

